GlaumbŠr was a privately owned estate up until the Reformation in the middle of the 16th century. The landowners at GlaumbŠr were either in holy orders themselves, or else employed private chaplains who served the church. In the spring of 1550, Jˇn Arason, Icelandĺs last Catholic bishop, endowed the estate as a church property and a pastorĺs residence. Many leaders of the Skagafj÷rdur region, both in the ecclesiastical and temporal spheres, were incumbents at GlaumbŠr. Experience shows that the clergymen of GlaumbŠr were content with their lot: between 1590 and 1849, no incumbent of the parish moved away to serve another parish. Many of the clergymen also ran large and prosperous estates.
According to the 1703 census, the GlaumbŠr household was comprised of 11 people: the pastor, his wife, their three young children, three laborers, two women servants, and two older women. In 1801, the household numbered 12 people: the pastor, his wife, two foster children and a grown-up daughter, a woman lodger and her teenage son, two laborers, and two woman servants. Half a century later, in 1845, the household had grown considerably to number 24 people: the pastor, his wife and daughter, the pastorĺs mother-in-law and her three children (young siblings of the pastorĺs wife), one laborer who was also a saddler and his two apprentices, three other laborers, six women servants, and a four-year-old pauper. The farm also functioned as a school and old peopleĺs home: boys would spend part of the year at the pastorĺs home, where they were given a groundwork in reading, writing, mathematics, natural science, geography, history, Danish, and Latin. Pastors also took in elderly people who were unable to look after themselves. They handed over their property to the pastor and in return received bed and board for whatever work they could contribute.